Glendale seeks nominations for historic preservation

Glendale Historic Preservation Commission is accepting nominations for the 22nd Annual Ruth Byrne Historic Preservation Award.

The award recognizes Glendale landmarks, individuals or organizations for outstanding contributions to Glendale’s historic heritage.

The award is named after Ruth Byrne, a Glendale native who made significantcontributions to historic preservation in the city of Glendale.

Nominations must be received no later than May 5 and should be sent to Thomas Ritz, senior planner, at the city of Glendale Planning Division, 5850 West Glendale Ave., Suite 212, Glendale, Arizona 85301; or by email to

Nomination forms are available at: www.glendaleaz.­com/historicpreservation/ RuthByrne.cfm Previous winners include: 2016: Martha Dennis – In recognition for her dedication to the preservation of Glendale’s historic heritage for over three decades.

2015: Melissa Wittliff – In recognition for her dedication to the preservation of Glendale’s historic heritage.

2014: First United Methodist Church – in recognition of dedication to the preservation of Glendale’s Historic Heritage. A mainstay of Historic Downtown Glendale since 1897.

2013: David Chang– in recognition for his dedication to the preservation of Glendale’s historic heritage.

2012: Ron Short, FAICP– outstanding service and dedication in advancing historic preservation efforts in the private sector and acting as a champion for such efforts.

2011: Thunderbird Tower Restoration Committee– Restoration of Tower at the Thunderbird School of Global Management.

2010: Natalie Stahl– restoration of the C.H. Tinker House and spearheading neighborhood improvement initiatives in Orchard Glen, particularly through the Weed & Seed Program.

2010: Joanne Henning’s After School Technology Class at Glendale American School– a historic preservation project honoring Glendale’s Centennial. 2009: Nelda Crowell– outstanding service and dedication in preserving the history of Thunderbird Field.

2008: John Akers– outstanding service for his historic preservation efforts and service to the community.

2007: Glendale Woman’s Club– outstanding service to the community and preservation of the clubhouse.

2006: Julia Phillips– outstanding service as Sahuaro Ranch tour guide and preserving Glendale’s history.

2005: Lori Green– contributions to preservation efforts in Catlin Court.

2005: Dan Kallberg– preserving the story of the Glendale Police Department through the Glendale Police Museum.

2004: Juanita Buckley– preservation of a 1919 bungalow, creating the Marty Robbins Museum, and annual music festival.

2003: Charles Sands and Louis “Buzzard” Sands IV– support for Manistee Ranch, the date-grove acquisition, and financial and technical assistance in restoration of the ranch house.

2002: Ruth Byrne– recognition of 20 years of energetic involvement in all aspects of historic preservation and education in the city of Glendale and exemplifying innovative leadership in community preservation activities.

2001: Sandy Kralovetz– preservation & revitalization of the 1917 Christian Church bungalow and preservation efforts in Catlin Court.

2001: Larry Rovey– support of the Sahuaro Ranch Foundation and preservation of Glendale’s Agrarian heritage. 2000: Carol and Dr. Charles St. Clair– significant contributions to historic preservation in Glendale.

1999: Sue Branch– contribution to the revitalization of the Catlin Court specialty area of Historic Downtown Glendale.

1999: Glendale Historical Society– 25 years of contributions to historic preservation efforts in Glendale.

1998: Martha Campbell– preservation and restoration of a Glendale landmark in the Catlin Court Historic District.

1997: Glendale Mayor Elaine Scruggs– for her leadership in preserving the 100year old Manistee Ranch main house and palm grove.

1996: Richard Coffinger– preserving and restoring the First National Bank building in Historic Downtown Glendale.

For questions or more information, call Thomas Ritz at 623-930-2588, or visit RuthByrne. cfm.

You are encouraged to leave relevant comments but engaging in personal attacks, threats, online bullying or commercial spam will not be allowed. All comments should remain within the bounds of fair play and civility. (You can disagree with others courteously, without being disagreeable.) Feel free to express yourself but keep an open mind toward finding value in what others say. To report abuse or spam, click the X in the upper right corner of the comment box.